The Judicial and Bar Council (JBC) on Friday came up with final nominees for the vacant positions in the Sandiganbayan and Court of Appeals (CA).


Five individuals made it to the shortlist for the position vacated by Sandiganbayan Associate Justice Roland Jurado, namely, trial court judges Philip Aguinaldo, Maryann Corpus-Mañalac and Danilo Cruz, Ombudsman-Luzon Acting Director for Prosecution and Monitoring Unit Bayani Jacinto and Rosanna Fe Romero-Maglaya.


Jurado, who opted for early retirement, was supposed to end his stint at the anti-graft court on January 31, 2023.


Seven people, on the other hand, are vying for the post vacated by CA Justice Francisco Acosta, whose brother, Louis Acosta, was recently appointed to the appellate court after serving as Pasig City judge.


The nominees are Gregorio Dela Peña III, Walter Ong, Joselito De Jesus Vibrandor, Merianthe Pacita Zuraek, Jeoffre Acebido, Anisah Amanodin-Umpa and Tita Marilyn Payoyo-Villordon.


The names were submitted by the JBC, a multi-sectoral screening body, to President Rodrigo Duterte, who will make the final appointment. —KG, GMA News



Text by Virgil Lopez, GMA News, March 31, 2017